Washington University is a founding member of and competes in the University Athletic Association (UAA), along with Brandeis University, Carnegie Mellon University, Case Western Reserve University, University of Chicago, Emory University, New York University, and the University of Rochester.

Since the league’s establishment, WUSTL teams have won 147 UAA titles and 19 NCAA Division III national championships. Many of our teams are nationally prominent in NCAA Division III: The women’s basketball team won four consecutive national championships in 1998-2001. The women’s volleyball team has won 10 national championships, including the 2007 and ’09 national titles. The men’s basketball team won consecutive national titles in 2008 and ’09, while the men’s tennis team were national champions in 2008 and the women’s cross country team in 2011.

Several thousand students, faculty, and staff members participate in intramural and recreational sports.

To learn more, visit bearsports.wustl.edu.

Media Contacts

Chris Mitchell
Dir. of Sports Information
(314) 935-5077

Kelsey Zutavern
Assistant Director of Sports Information
(314) 935-4709