rss Medicine & Healthcare

Kidney test illustration

Many kidney disorders are difficult to diagnose. To address this problem, scientists and clinicians have developed a diagnostic test that identifies genetic changes linked to inherited kidney disorders. This testing is now available nationwide through Genomic Pathology Services (GPS) at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

Drug-resistant bacteria

Antibiotic resistance is poised to spread rapidly around the globe among bacteria frequently implicated in respiratory and urinary infections in hospital settings, according to new research at the School of Medicine.


Six researchers at Washington University are being honored as outstanding scientists by the Academy of Science-St. Louis. University recipients are faculty members Ralph Quatrano, Jennifer K. Lodge, Samuel Achilefu, Charles M. Hohenberg, Gautam Dantas and Steven Teitelbaum (right), who received a lifetime achievement award.

If kidney cancer is diagnosed early — before it spreads beyond the kidney — 80 percent of patients survive. However, finding it early has been among the disease’s greatest challenges. Now, Washington University School of Medicine researchers Evan D. Kharasch, MD, PhD (left) and Jeremiah J. Morrissey, PhD, have developed a noninvasive method to screen for kidney cancer that involves measuring the presence of proteins in the urine. MORE
A deficiency of vitamin D has been linked to Type 2 diabetes and heart disease, two illnesses that commonly occur together and are the most common cause of illness and death in Western countries. Now, new research in mice led by the School of Medicine's Carlos Bernal-Mizrachi suggests vitamin D plays a major role in preventing the inflammation that leads to Type 2 diabetes and atherosclerosis.MORE
William Gillanders, MD, a physician-scientist and avid cyclist, keeps the wheels turning in the race against breast cancer. His career goal is to change treatment paradigms by making breast cancer vaccines a reality for those being treated for the disease.MORE

In cells lining the airway, high levels of certain proteins have long been linked with the overproduction of mucus characteristic of diseases like asthma and COPD. New research from the School of Medicine provides clues to potentially counteract inappropriate mucus production.

media contacts
Joni Westerhouse
Associate Vice Chancellor, Executive Director Medical News
(314) 286-0120